Albums

Les souvenirs d'un aviateur

John Bridgman de Roseland, Ontario, a rejoint l'Aviation Royale Canadienne en 1943 et été formé pour être bombardier à St Johns, Québec. Parmi ses souvenirs de guerre figurent un certificat indiquant qu'il a complété un tour d'opération et des photographies aériennes prises au cours de bombardements auquel il a participé.

D'Hamilton à la guerre

John "Jack" Smith est né en Ecosse en 1906 et émigra au Canada à l'adolescence. Il s’enrôlât tôt au cours de la Seconde guerre mondiale, servit dans le 5ème Ambulance de Campagne du Corps médical de l'Armée Royale Canadienne. Lorsqu'il était outre mer, il envoyait des instantanés et des souvenirs à sa famille à Hamilton Ontario afin de leur montrer certains aspects de la vie militaire : exercices de campagne, vie au campement, inspection par le Roi et la Reine et les environs de Spitzbergen, Russie, où il a été posté brièvement en 1941. Jack Smith est retourné au Canada après la guerre et est décédé en 1985.

Les souvenirs d'un fils parti à la guerre

Patrick McDermott a quitté ses foyers de Woodstock, Ontario pour s'engager dans l'Armée canadienne. Il servit dans le Black Watch (Régiment Royal d'Ecosse) canadien. Il fut tué au combat en septembre 1944 et enterré dans le cimetière de guerre canadien de Bergen-op-Zoom aux Pays-Bas. Après la guerre, sa famille a conservé ses carnets de vie en uniforme.

Scrapbooks

An airman's keepsakes

John Bridgman of Roseland, Ontario, joined the Royal Canadian Air Force in 1943 and qualified as a bomb aimer at #9 Air Observer School in St Johns, Quebec. Amongst his wartime souvenirs are a certificate indicating that he had completed a tour of operations and aerial photographs taken on some of the bombing raids in which he participated.

From Hamilton to war

John “Jack” Smith was born in Scotland in 1906 and came to Canada as a teenager. He enlisted early in the Second World War, serving in the 5th Field Ambulance of the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps. While he was overseas, he sent snapshots and other souvenirs of his travels to his family in Hamilton, Ontario, to show them the more mundane parts of serving in the army: field exercises, barracks life, an inspection by the King and Queen, and the surroundings in Spitzbergen, Russia, where he was posted for a short time in 1941. Jack Smith returned to Canada after the war and died in 1985.

Memories of a soldier son

Patrick McDermott left his home in Woodstock, Ontario, to enlist in the Canadian Army, and eventually served with the Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada. He was killed in action in September 1944, and buried in Bergen-op-Zoom Canadian War Cemetery in the Netherlands. After the war, his family saved these few mementos of his time in uniform.

Harold Bailey, Melfort, Saskatchewan

Harold Bailey was born in Perth County, Ontario, but was living in Melfort, Saskatchewan, when he enlisted with the 1st Contingent early in the First World War. Over the next five years, he sent a series of postcards to various family members, who carefully preserved them until his return to Canada in 1919.